top of page

Emmitt Smith 22



In 1990, the Cowboys selected Emmitt Smith in the first round. Smith started 15 games, rush for 937 yards and 11 touchdowns, while being named NFL Offensive Rookie of the Year and receiving Pro Bowl honors.


In 1992, he set the Cowboys' single-season franchise record and won the rushing title with 1,713 yards. He also became the first player to win the league's rushing title and the Super Bowl in the same season. In 1993, Smith missed all of training camp and the first 2 regular season games in a contract dispute. Despite missing two games, Smith posted 1,486 rushing yards, 9 touchdowns and helped the Cowboys become the first team to win a Super Bowl after starting the season 0-2. He also received the league MVP and the Super Bowl XXVIII MVP award.


Smith retired as the NFL’s all-time rushing leader with 18,355 yards and scored more rushing touchdowns (164) than any other player in NFL history. Smith was selected to the Pro Bowl eight times, won four NFL rushing titles (‘91, ‘92, ‘93 and ‘95), three Super Bowl titles, and a league (1993) and Super Bowl (XXVIII) MVP award. Smith broke Walter Payton’s NFL rushing record at Texas Stadium on Oct. 27, 2002 on an 11-yard run in the fourth quarter against the Seattle Seahawks.


Smith was inducted into the Ring of Honor with Troy Aikman and Michael Irvin on Monday Sept. 19, 2005 at halftime of the Cowboys-Redskins game. Smith was elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 2010. Show your appreciation for Emmitt Smith with collectibles, photographs and more here at the Drew Pearson's Cowboys Legends Pro Shop.

bottom of page